My New Acer from Radio Shack

I’ve always been a Verizon/Motorola fan as they are a big sponsor for racquetball.  Unfortunately, I came across a deal I could not get over and it didn’t include Verizon.

Here’s the story:

Last week, I went to VerizonWireless to get a couple questions answered about my account.  While I was in there I got to looking at an HP Mini Laptop that cost $250 before the $50 mail-in rebate with a two-year agreement for internet access 24/7.  I thought…”I can get this in the next 30 days.”

I didn’t want to spend so much money since I was going to East Lansing, MI for the Junior Racquetball Olympics the next day.

I got home…got online and looked into that HP Mini Laptop.  I came across a review that really got my attention on the HP.  Sounded exactly what I was looking for.

As the guy continued his review he kept my interest and I was convinced I wanted it.

Towards the end of his review he then saysits a good buy BUT you can get an Acer Mini Laptop from Radio Shack for half the price.

I said “No Way that can’t be true!”  I told my daughter let’s go to Radio Shack.  She was happy since she keeps wanting to look at phones in hopes she can get rid of her prepaid one.  It’s not happening!  Her prepaid phone is more than enough for a 10 year old.

We got to Radio Shack and I saw them.  They were selling them for $49 + 2 year agreement for 24/7 internet access through AT&T.

For me it was a no brainer as I really needed that option.

I said, “I’ll take it!”.  He said, “we are out and so is everyone else in town and I don’t know exactly when they would be in.”

My daughter and I decided to go Honey Creek Mall’s Radio Shack instead of believing that he actually new what he was talking about.

We got there…I asked about it and guess what?  They had one:)

They had it for $79.95!  I said “I’ll take it!”

I don’t know if it was my smile or the fact I told her the other Radio Shack had it for $49.95 but she threw in a CA Internet Security 2GB storage device they sell for $70 and CA sells for $100 at their website.  She gave it to me for FREE.

Let’s let me feel good and believe it was my smile 🙂

After a week with my new Acer I love it.  I only hope I continue to love it.

Maybe now I will really consider the Iphone.

Then again…you can text online for free.  You can use Skype and make calls anywhere in the world.  You can receive texts to your emails.  For a low monthly fee you can use Skype to call anyone anywhere.

My acer has a built in camera and speakerphone.

Do I really need any more hi-tec gadgets?

My Acer is 10.1″ and probably weighs less than when cell phones first came out in the 1980’s.

I can probably use this baby for everything.  I should buy an extra battery and a charger to keep it on in my vehicle, maybe a headset so I can have personal conversations in public.

Do I really need another phone contract?

Decisions, decisions!

Leave a comment